top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemissjmtaylor

All I Want for My Birthday is a new Tutoring Space!!

So I started this site over a year ago with the intention of writing about reading and phonics and all the fun things I learn as a tutor. I was going to use it for marketing purposes to bring in new clients! I was going to share my favorite books to read with children! I had all the plans!


Then COVID-19 happened. And any plans for t his little bloggity blog were left at the bottom of the barrel. Suddenly I went from getting the keys to a new tutoring office walking distance from my house, to suddenly having to learn how to replicate every aspect of tutoring and teaching reading into a digital format.


My storage room/ library was suddenly converted into a virtual office, complete with Amazon boxes as a laptop stand. Zoom, a program I had used previously only once, became a daily lifeline. Books and card games sat dormant, replaced by e-books and digital games I quickly learned how to make into reading games (shout out to my MVPs, Wordwall and Pink Cat Games!).


I had no idea that over a year later I would still be tutoring 100% virtually. I figured a few weeks of online tutoring, and I would be back to my cushy office seeing my kids in person.


Oh, how naïve I was! One year later, and I am still logging into zoom every day, all day long, teaching the little ones to the best of my ability. While this proves that virtual learning can and does work, there's nothing quite like seeing my kids in person.


So now that I'm vaccinated, I'm ready to dip my toe back into in-person tutoring! (I'm still offering virtual tutoring for those that prefer/need virtual tutoring). I miss seeing my students in person; I've only met most of my current group of kids virtually at this point, so I'd like to actually see them in person!! And I know most students benefit more from in-person learning, and more progress will be made when I get to interact with them in person.


Unfortunately, going back to in-person is a little complicated.


You see, I had a brand new office set up before COVID shutdowns set in. After tutoring at Lyttle Fox for my first 2 years, I was growing too much--and therefore growing out of the space they had available. After a six month+ search, I had finally found an ideal office set up: it was walking distance from home, and I had my own tutoring space I could decorate, and the rent was affordable.


I was literally in the office for about two maybe three weeks before Covid made the world go bonkers. And so I packed up everything I thought necessary for a couple of weeks and brought it home to tutor virtually, not having any idea that the next time I would be there it would be to clear out everything and move my tutoring business home for good.


Unfortunately, it became clear by the fall that I was not ready to return to in-person tutoring-- I just didn't feel safe and didn't want to put my mom or myself at risk. The room that I was renting had sat vacant ever since I left, and it needed to be used-- by me or someone else in the office. The business I was renting from was very kind and patient with me, but the office couldn't sit unused anymore. So after speaking to the parents of my kiddos, I gave it up with a plan to tutor virtually for the time being.


Well, the 'time being' is over. I'm vaccinated, my mom is vaccinated, and while I know things aren't perfectly normal they are better than they were this time last year.


Instead of searching for a new office again, I've decided to create an office in my home. One of the perks of having an old home is that there are a lot of nook-and-cranny rooms built in-- so what used to be a library/storage room is now becoming my tutoring office.


It's small, but it's workable. Plus it has its own entrance, so it won't disturb my mom too much.


Unfortunately, creating an office space from scratch means I'm basically having to buy everything. Where I had things like desks and chairs and bookshelves in the spaces I've rented from, I don't have those things here.


I currently have a desk, a couple of various organization items, and a whole lot of books. That's about it. (I have two massive bookshelves that contain my personal books-those will be coming into my bedroom this week to make room for a child-size bookshelf or two).


As much as my helper's heart hates asking other people for help, I am waving the white flag: I need help getting this office set up.


The office is finally at a point where it's cleaned enough to start purchasing things like furniture, things to help organize the space, student/classroom materials like paper and pencils and scissors, and other reading manipulatives that I have not had room for in the past.


I have created an Amazon wish list with the various things I need and want for this space. Necessities like furniture, lighting, and supplies (such as cleaning supplies school supplies etc.) I've also included a few fun things, such as book sets I've dreamed about having for my students, fun manipulatives to make reading and phonics an enjoyable experience, and reading games to help break the ice while meeting my students in person for the first time.


My birthday is about three weeks or so away (July 7th for those that are curious). In honor of my 29th year of life, and three years of chugging away at this little tutoring business, do you consider helping me create this little reading room of mine for my kids?


And honestly, this tutoring space is a little bit for me too. I've felt a little bit like a nomad over the last couple of years, figuring out my future and career plans and what have you. I've come to realize that this IS my future. This is what I'm supposed to be doing. This little business is really the job I've dreamt about my whole life. I just didn't realize it for a while.


And having my own personal space to do this job in really, really means a lot to me.


All I've ever wanted to do is help kids learn. To get to wake up every day and do that as a tutor is the best feeling. And while I hope to someday be able to help students on a grander scale, in a nicer place than the little spare room in the back of my house, this is what I have to work with right now. But I would love some help with getting it set up, if you are willing and able.


I don't want or need anything for my birthday this year, except to get this office set up for my students. While I'm planning on starting in-person tutoring in the next few weeks

with what I have on hand, I would be humbled if you'd consider helping me make my new office space dreams come true!!


Here's the link again, in case you missed it!




117 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page